Snuggling with a cat

January 15, 2007I found out cats are ok. I have never had much luck with them in the past. They either tried to kill me (Mom says I am a bit melodramatic with this) or got me in trouble by making me cross the street to chase them, or just scared me a lot. Let me tell you what happened.

(L-R) Piper, Marley, me

Mom went away and my really good friend Jennefer picked me up to stay with her and her two schnauzers, Piper and Marley. I didn’t know there was going to be a cat involved! But sure enough, there was a cat in her house, big as day. Not only that, Piper and Marley played with her. Can you believe it? When she started trying to get me to chase her for fun, I didn’t trust her. I have been tricked like that before, and it never ended well for me. (At this point in my story, please imagine me rubbing my nose with my paw, tears in my eyes.) This crazy cat was so persistent about it that I finally couldn’t help myself – I chased her. Then she chased me, but not mean-like. She was kind of laughing, in a cat way. Then she let me chase her some more. I like this cat. I drew the line on cuddling with her like little Marley does. I did cuddle with Marley, though. Everyone cuddles with Marley.The last night I was there both my dog friends went to stay with their grandmother and I got to cuddle in bed all night with their Mom and dad all by myself. No other dogs to take the attention I should be getting. I hope Jennefer comes and gets me again sometime. The next night I got to stay with my Grandma and sleep under the covers with her and eat toast and jam the next morning. I love my Grandma.

I just got to thinking…why did I get to stay overnight with my bestest friends and my Grandma? Where is my Mom? I sure hope she isn’t having fun without me.

Lexi the snuggling schnauzer

Leave a Reply

