Memory Monday: Puppy Friend

Last Friday Mom brought me along to her home town in Western Pennsylvania (I called it pencil vain ya before, BOL!) to help take care of her BFF after she had a bad car accident. It was a 10 1/2 hour car drive, and I didn’t even nap once on the way. This was way too exiting. We made good time and arrived at 6:30 in the evening, plenty early to size up the eating and sleeping situations, as well as to get re-acquainted with the people and the dog and to meet the cat.

Pai, who is always sweet

Pai, who is always sweet

Claudia, aka Claud, aka the c-a-t

Claudia, aka Claud, aka the c-a-t

What I didn’t realize was going to happen was that I would hook back up with an old friend of mine. When we were both less than a year old I had a lot of fun one day playing with Pai, short for Paisana, which means “friend” in Italian. That’s what this Memory is about.

2004

My Grandma

My Grandma

While Mom and I were visiting my Grandma at her home in Sharon, PA, we spent a day visiting with a friend and her Airedale/greyhound mix puppy, Pai (pronounced pie). I had just celebrated my first birthday, and although Pai was a few months younger than me, she was already much bigger. It was a Saturday, and we drove to a nearby school where we could run around off-leash and dig in the soft dirt of the playground. We started out digging to China. Then I saw that Pai could dig bigger holes faster than me, so I ran over to her and insisted she give me her hole. She was a very agreeable puppy – and she realized who was in charge – so she said OK and started digging a new hole. Pretty soon that hole started looking better than the one I had just taken from her that she gave me, so I ran over and took asked for that one too. Before long, I owned all the holes in the playground! It was getting late – time to get in the car and head back to Pai’s house. Oops, we’re both covered in mud! Pai’s mom drove the car home to “get the bath ready” while Mom walked us both to our destinies chance to get clean and good smelling again.

Now, be sure to check out my cute boyfriend’s Memory Monday post. Noodle 2

13 thoughts on “Memory Monday: Puppy Friend

  1. Pingback: Health, Friends and Flowers | lexi the schnauzer

  2. Digging giant holes sounds like a perfect day to me. I’m amazed that you didn’t fall asleep on the drive to PA – my eyes always start closing when I lay in my back seat, no matter how hard I try to keep them open. I hope your mom’s BFF has a speedy recovery.

    Like

  3. You stayed awake the whole drive? I probably would’ve done the same thing. The car scares the daylights out of me. Pai looks super nice and must be if she gave you all of her holes that she dug. I’ve never been allowed to dig before. I wonder how big of a hole I could dig if I wasn’t stopped! I bet I could dig to China for both of us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Noodle honey, I hope you learn to like riding in the car. I go every chance I get. We usually go somewhere fun, whether to Micky D’s or my work or to the park or the pet store. Don’t worry, your Mom will always bring you back home with her.

      Now, Mrs. Noodle’s Mom, would you please, please, please let your precious little boy DIG A FRIGGIN HOLE! Oops. Let me try this again.

      Dear Mrs. Noodle’s Mom, It would be super nice of you to allow our much loved Schnoodle Doodle Noodle to dig one little ole hole. Just one, as deep as he wants. Would that be ok, please, please?

      Lots of love and wiggles and licks, Lexi the sweet girl.

      Liked by 1 person

      • BOL! BOL! BOL! Lexi, I’m dying from laughter over here. Ummm….Mom wants to tell you something.

        Dear Lexi,
        If my little boy would dig just one hole, preferably not in middle of the driveway, I promise to let him dig it as deep as he would like. Ear and butt scratchies.
        Love,
        Mrs. Noodle’s Mom

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

