Memory Monday: Nursing Home Therapy

I don’t get to go to nursing homes anymore, not since my Grandma died. Sometimes I still think about it, though, because I still like older people. And sometimes when we go to the children’s hospital, we sneak into the section where there are sick big people – mostly older – and I feel their need. I give them the very best therapy possible. Hmmm. I think I will ask Mom to start taking me to nursing homes again. They need me. I have asked Mommy to type my memory Monday part in blue so you will know when it ends and we are back to now.


Memory Monday: My first trip to a nursing home.

March 20, 2007: Mom came home from work early on Friday and took me to a nursing home. At first I thought I was going to see my Grandma who lives near there, but I got to see lots and lots of other people who are old like my Grandma. Their rooms all open out to hallways, too, so they wouldn’t be able to let me stay all day either. They all talked to me nice and petted me. Mom told everyone about me being Toto in the Wizard of Oz. The bling on my collar was the picture button with me and Dorothy on it. No one had met a real, live star before, and I think they liked that. I felt very proud. There were a lot of cookie crumbs and I cleaned them up for everyone. I am a good helper.  It was hot and stuffy in there and my throat got parched. It smelled funny too, like stuff I am not allowed to do in the house. I started whining and Mommy looked like she was going to be sick, so we left. She said we might go to a different nursing home next time.

I am a therapy dog now. I hope I don’t have to learn a new name again, like I did for the play.

Saturday I get to see my good schnauzer friends, Piper and Marley.

Lexi_Piper_Marley on patio 07

The Three Amigos: (L-R) Piper, Marley and Me

We are all going to get tested to be therapy dogs for hospitals that take care of children. I like all the children petting me. I am so sure I will pass whatever the test is. I hear that Marley is a little worried about this because she never liked kids. I think I will talk to her about it. After all, I never liked kids either until the Wizard of Oz. I will let her know they are really OK. Sometimes they are yummy sticky and they usually drop food, so it’s good to hang around them. I am Lexi, the new nursing home dog.

See, I even said way back when I was only 4 years old that I am a nursing home dog. Yep, gotta’ get that going again.

Noodle 2Now for a Memory Memory post from my bestest guy, Noodle.

9 thoughts on “Memory Monday: Nursing Home Therapy

  1. Lexi, you did a noble thing by being a therapy dog. I’m afraid my dogs would make people need more therapy. For some reason, they are all not good with children and things on wheels. Sophie might be able to participate, but she would lick them to death.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lexi, please go back to nursing homes and extended Care Facilities. Here in Canada there are so many, many older peeps that would love to have a pet visit. I know it was horrible for both you and your mom when gramma died but there are so many more peeps that love dogs like a beautiful you to drop by for a visit.

    Shoko

    Liked by 1 person

      • Good…you seem to make lots of peeps happy. Mom thought about taking me to the Extended Care at the end of the street….for a second and then dismissed the idea. I’m afraid of new things and new people so I’d probably tell them what I thought of them right away. Sis would be ideal but she has arthritis and other problems so mom doesn’t really know if this would be kind or cruel. Sis loves all peeps.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

