I’m Home from the Vet – Well, most of me is

This has definitely not been the best day of my life. First Dad refused to give me my brekkies. Then Mom left me at the vet office and I got stuck in a cage. Next, someone stuck a needle in my arm and stole my blood. Then the vet called my Mom. I was hoping Mom would say, “Oh, I will be right there to get my precious darling Lexi.” Nope. When the vet called her two more times, I started to get worried. That didn’t last long – it’s hard to worry when you are first sedated, then knocked out by something running into your vein. While I was asleep the doc stole five of my teeth – Five! In one of the phone calls, he had told Mom that “at my age” there could be bone loss leading to loose teeth, but he wouldn’t know until he got the plaque off. Even though they all felt firmly anchored, the plaque sometimes holds them in place. So why did he take the plaque off?  Grrr. Ow, that hurt.

Remember that lump on my paw? Refresher here: https://lexitheschnauzer.wordpress.com/2016/01/31/potp-for-the-paw/ The doc found another lump between my paw pads on the same foot. Since it wasn’t directly beneath the lump on the top of my foot, he wasn’t sure if it was two separate tumors. He was concerned because the one on the top had grown so quickly.  When the doc got in there with his knife he realized that the one on the bottom had pushed up the thin skin between my toes and caused the one on the top. Or something like that. When he got them off he saw that even though the skin on them was thick, the inside was filled with a creamy liquid. He told Mom on his fourth phone call that it was a good sign and didn’t recommend spending the money on a biopsy. Finally, Dad picked me up and brought me home to Mommy.

0201161757

While Daddy went back out to get my pain medicine, Mommy held me and rocked me and sang me to sleep. You know I was in pain to let her do that. But it was strangely comforting. During that time, Dad sent Mom a text:

IMG951304
I can’t understand why he still isn’t home with my pain medicine!

My blood work was mostly good, but my liver enzymes were “off the chart” high. Mom told the doc that she had warned me not to drink. Ha, ha. Silly Mommy, I have already gone through the 4 step program for Kahlua and Cream.

Step 1: I ask for it.

Step 2: Mom says No.

Step 3: Mom and Dad start calling it “special K”, like I don’t know what they mean.

Step 4: They stop buying special K. Drat.

Mom asked for a copy of the bw:

0201162042
Dr. Smith said this can be a sign of Cushings, but I had a Cushings test a year or two ago because those same levels were high then, and it came back negative. I don’t have any of what’s called “clinical signs,” either. To help my liver, Mommy bought Milk Thistle. Dr. Karen is my acupuncturist, and she said this will help bring the ALKP level down.  I hope I get it in something good, like butter, or peanut butter or hamburger. Mmm.

Daddy’s home. Finally! Time to take my pain meds. I wonder what took him so long…

42 thoughts on “I’m Home from the Vet – Well, most of me is

  1. Feel better sweet Lexi. Scotties are notorious for high liver enzymes. Drew and Corky were on milk thistle and Sam-E for years. It got the levels down. The two together are the same as Denamarin from the vet. It just costs 1/10th the price.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad the tumor is benign. In May 2014, she had a tumor there and then had a toe amputated. It turned out to be melanoma and she didn’t make it to 2015. Cushing’s? Kyla had Addison’s which is the opposite of Cushing’s (Addison’s is where the glands don’t produce enough and Cushing’s is where they produce too much). Nasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s so sad. Mom’s first schnauzer had Cushings for 5 years before she died at the age of 11. The chiropractor was able to stop the progression, but not until after it had blinded her and ravaged her body. It is often brought on my steroids, and I have never done steroids!

      Like

  3. Bless your little heart. I missed this yesterday my beautiful friend. Please get better soon. If you need me, call me. I’ll come over and hold you too. I’ve heard that my oinks can be very relaxing. Loves you! XOXO – Bacon

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the offer, Bacon, but I think I am over being held. I still don’t feel great, but I am over the hold me-rock me-sing me to sleep stage. 🙂 Someday I will have to listen to your oinks! Maybe you could record them and sell them as a relaxation CD!

      Like

  4. Oh that alk phos is indeed a little high…but I know you have good people taking care of you so Puppydoc is not going to worry too much. But I WILL be sending you lots of hugs and licks and happy thoughts your way. Enjoy your pain meds! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Lexi, what a day you all had! I’m so glad the lump wasn’t serious. Never fear your fur will grow back soon. In the meantime who knows you might be starting a new fashion trend 🙂 Terrible timing (as if there’s a good time) for a flat tire, poor dad. I hope you feel better today sweet pup.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Noodle thinks I’m still sexy with the fur shaved, so not worrying about it, BOL! Dad had to spend a bunch more moola today after finding a nail in a second tire. Two new tires and some new brakes for the truck. Maybe that’s why they are starving me with just canned food – they can’t afford my kibble!!

      Like

  6. I can’t believe they stole your little teeth! I bet those choppers are under the vet’s pillow right now waiting for the tooth fairy to come! What a racket! Stealing dog teeth and keeping them to make a killing with the tooth fairy…. It’s scandalous. You still look beautiful, L. And so far, I don’t see a cone, so there’s that. Feel better soon and keep us posted, of course. Mom and I are sending prayers and happy healing thoughts.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks Cupcake. Say, do you really mean the doc is double dipping? First getting money to steal my teeth, then getting money to give them to the tooth fairy? Yes, what a racket indeed! I could still use your happy thoughts – not 100% yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Woof, Lexi, you’ve been through a lot. Hope they put the meds in peanut butter (thumps tail on ground). And don’t be drinking that Special K. Woofwoofwoof! The milk thistle is good stuff. My mom used it on herself last year along with Organic Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar (brrrr!) and now she’s fine. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aghhh! Aggghhhh! What did they do to you! I’ll bite that doctors leg for stealing your teethies and shaving your beautiful leg! My heart was in my throat this whole post. I’m happy to hear that the very didn’t think it was cancer in your paw. Your poor Dad getting stuck when he knew you were relying on him. Oh, my sweet girl, in so happy your Mom was able to comfort you. I love you and your one shaved leg so much! Your guy…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw Noodle. You can swallow your heart back down into your chest now. I was slow waking up this morning but that may be because mommy gave me a double dose of the pain meds last night by mistake. BOL! Poor Daddy. He didn’t look happy when he got home. He just sat across the room from me the rest of the evening with a glazed look on his face. He did hold me when Mom asked him to so she could finish my blog. Do you think I could start a new fashion trend? The couture Lexi, with one little puff of hair on an otherwise shaved leg! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

