An Overnighter

This weekend Mom and I packed up and went across town to visit my bestest friend, Auntie Jen, along with Piper and Ella. My Uncle Bill had to go away overnight so we went to keep them company and help with some stuff. It is sad that they are moving away; however, it is great that it is only about a four hour drive, which means more road trips and overnight stays!

Auntie Jen is the only one – besides the hospital kids – that I let hug me. Hmm, I wish people would let me know when I have something stuck between my teeth!

Auntie Jen loves me, and I love her too!

Auntie Jen loves me, and I love her too!

Piper and I played hide and seek in the back yard while our moms worked in the house.

Can you find Piper?

Can you find Piper? You may have to enlarge the pic.

Later, Mom and Auntie Jen sat down together in front of the computer to research houses for rent in the new city. I took that opportunity to rest.

Lexi in Jens chair

A realtor came over this afternoon to talk about selling their house. I know Piper and I can be pretty loud when someone comes in the door, and this time it worked to our advantage. Before the realtor lady got there Mom packed me and Piper in the car and took us riding around. Look where we ended up.

Baskin Robbins: heaven on earth.

Baskin Robbins: heaven on earth. We shared a scoop of sugar-free coconut and pineapple ice cream

35 thoughts on “An Overnighter

  1. My standard poodle Cole is 14 and just diagnosed with cancer. We are providing hospice care for him, making his last time with us as happy as we can. Lexi is lovely… I chuckled to see you feeding her with a spoon, and getting the reaction we get, a sniff and turning away.
    We will feed bite by bite by hand to get something in Cole. Wishing you the best.

    The old saying, it’s better to have loved and lost than never loved at all, is very true. LeeAnna and Cole at not afraid of color

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Cole, my new friend, I hate like everyting to hear you got the Big C. You have to fight, fight, fight. I have teapills and other herbals from my vet, including lavender. It is helping; I feel really good and I am still alive! BOL! BOL! Mommy gives me massages, too, and high protein foods that my bestest vet said to feed. Please try to eat, Cole. Ask your Mom for calf liver. And garbanzo beans! And canteloupe! And cucumber peels! And cheese! Well, you get the idea. 🙂 *licks and wiggles*

      Like

  2. What a pawsum overnite you had with Piper sweet Lexi!!!!
    Mee Aunty Judith an Unccle leon are goin to sell thee house they own 4 blocks away frum mee an LadyMum……
    They all ready moved far far away butt came back fur thee month. Mee was so-o happy to see them both!!! Mee wishess wee could move to where they are…..sighsss…..
    **paw kissesss** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Lexi…my Grandma in ally figured out how to read the blogs of my four-leggeds friends…now she can read your blog out loud to me. Grandma loved reading about your trip and she laughed when she looked at the picture of you resting on the chair…she said we have a lot in common! bark bark bark! Grandma called you “adorable”!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dante, you know I have been following and commenting on your blog for some time now. I am so tickled you were finally able to come by for a visit to my blog. Paws up for your grandma!! Thanks, Dante’s grandma!

      Like

  4. OMP! That sounds like the bestest trip evah my friend. And that ice cream – THUD – piggy down. I *need* some of that now. I’m off to pester – I mean ask mom. Thanks and have an awesome day! XOXO – Bacon

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lexi, you are definitely the most skilled at finding ways to make your Mama give you treats!! We have started a notebook to jot them down!!

    Sounds like a wonderful Overnighter, and some quality Aunty-Piper time!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a fun visit! Piper is a good hider. You were very patient to let Auntie Jen give you hugs and kisses (greens aside). Also I never thought that barking would be a way to get ice cream. Thanks for the tip, L. I will have to make some changes around here……

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Cupcake. (Why do I get hungry every time I hear from you? Oh, yeah, cause I’m a schnauzer). Piper taught Auntie Jen to hug us, so I just have to be patient with her. And Mom say she now realizes her error with the ice cream. Hmm.

      Like

  7. I hope Piper and her furmily will find a super house in their new town… but I agree with you it is sad when someone we loves moves to another place… hugs and weim-power for the house selling and the move :o)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. BOW WOW, Piper is a grrrreat hide and seek player! Unlike most other Dachshunds, I don’t really bark that much. I’ll have to start barking though when peeps come to the door if it gets me some ice cream! 😉 Sounds like you had fun with your loved ones, Lexi!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Chris. Uh, oh, I hope I’m not in trouble with your Mom for letting out that little info on how to get ice cream! Yes, we had a great time and I am still glad to be home with my dad tonight (and my mom).

      Like

Leave a Reply

