Sunshine and Walking

Hi friends. I am still feeling pretty lousy.Mom said that’s a lousy way to start a message, but it’s the truth. Even with my meds, my tummy doesn’t feel good and I don’t want to eat. Except once, yesterday, the “make Lexi feel famished” pill kicked in and I gulped down most of a can of k/d.

This morning I wanted to go outside. The back of our house faces the east and the sun had not quite topped the trees. However, a few rays of sunshine pierced through the branches and foliage to make sun puddles on the concrete just outside of our enclosed patio. Mommy carried me out there and held me in the the sun puddles until her back ached and she had to sit down.

After a while we went in, but Mom could tell I was still restless, that I still wanted something. When she asked me if I wanted to go for a walk, I went to the front door, the one we often use to go out for a walk. Mom let me go out without my leash, too! I made it down the stairs ok and we walked side-by-side down the driveway, where I made my usual right turn to walk along the bottom of all the yards. We only went as far as the neighbor’s house. When we got back to our driveway, Mommy asked me if I wanted to keep going and I said yes, so we walked past two more houses to the corner where all the neighbor dogs leave their pee mail. I read what was there and turned left to go down that road for a few more houses. Sometimes I followed Mom, and sometimes she followed me. It was kind of like when we did Freestyle, only without the music and fancy footwork. We live out in the country in a quiet subdivision with only local traffic, and Mom made sure I didn’t wander into the road. She knew there was no chance of me taking off to chase anything.

There were tons of smells and Mom let me explore along the way. It was just like old times. There we were, just the two of us, taking a leisurely Sunday stroll through the neighborhood. Once back home, Mom carried me up our driveway and I am pleasantly tired now. I think the “make the schnauzer famished pill” might be starting to kick in too, so Mom is going to stop typing so she can use her hands to feed the schnauzer.

0828161059a

37 thoughts on “Sunshine and Walking

  1. I’m so glad you had the energy to get out and go for a stroll! How nice to have such great one-on-one time. We’re thinking of you and wishing you and your paw-rents well. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glads you got to get out and read the pee mail! That always makes me feel betters! And, it looks like you and Noodle had one FABulous time at Disney!
    Sendin’ lots of healin’ vibes and POTP and {{{hugs}}}
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Precious Lexi doggie mee iss sendin you MEGA POTP an LadyMum iss purrayin fur you to feel better soon. Shee has leeky eyess an mee iss sad beecause you not feelin well…
    Wee LUV you Lexi!!!! ❤ ❤
    ***paw kissesss*** Siddhartha Henry xxx an ((hugs)) LadyMum

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh that duz sound like a great walk – I hafta keep my mom on a walkin’string or else I never know where she mite wander off to. I hope u added your own pee-mail when u stopped tue read the otherz. Sittin’an’layin’in the sun feelz good on us older doggiez-
    espeshally if u r not feelin’furry much good. You make shure u keep eatin’whenever u can-
    I bet your mom will c tue that. Me an’mom still gotz prayerz, POTP an’I still gotz thoze Beagle Arrooooooooooz (healin’vibez) comin’your way.
    Lady Shasta of Beaglebratz Manor

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lexi,
    Whst a wonderful walk you and Mom had. I love the image that sun puddles brought to my mind.
    I hope your lunch tasted good.
    Hugs and cuddles Matgret

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So nice that you got to freestyle with your mom Lexi. This is a special time for the two of you to be together. We know your hearts are connected. We sure hope you get feeling better.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

    Like

  7. What a super special walk. Usually my mom says the word, “Hurry up.” and “Stop daydreaming.” when we’re outside. Your mom is patient. And living in the moment. She’s kind of like us doggies that way. xo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

