Memory Monday – Beginnings

miss-greenI believe that for most of us, our lives are like a novel that can be broken down into chapters. A new love can produce a new chapter: romance, marriage, the birth or adoption of a child or of a pet. I clearly remember the Saturday in June of 2003 when that new chapter began for me – the day I fell in love with Lexi. While her 4 littermates were sleeping, Lexi was trying to bite the cool air coming out of the floor vent in her breeder’s home. Two weeks later, on the Fourth of July, I made the three hour trip back to pick up my spirited, eight-week-old puppy. Thus began a glorious new chapter of love in my life. My Angel Lexi, forever my heart dog.

 

 

26 thoughts on “Memory Monday – Beginnings

    • It’s true. Their ears typically get docked around 3 to 4 months of age, and having worked in a vet’s, I knew how painful and cruel that was. Anyway, she had beautiful ears. Hope the U.S. soon bans this type of disfigurement on animals, like Europe.

      Like

  1. Mee-you yur Lexi was so adoorabull when shee was a puppy!!
    Fank you Lady Amy fur sharin yur memoreess of her with us. Mee prayss to Buudha Kat that yur memoreess ease thee sadness inn yur heart ❤
    Wee hopess that Katmass will bee peecefull inn sum way fur you an yur furamillee….
    ***paw kissess*** an Meowy Katmass, Siddhartha Henry xxxx an {{{hugsss}}} LadyMum

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Six months earlier (Dec 21, 2002), we rescued Kyla. It was a little cold, but we had the sunroof open because she had been fed a diet of Mexican food and must have recently eaten bean burritos and was passing foul smelling gas.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those first memories are always the sweetest. I remember giving Noodle “hugs” the first day I met him. He kept jumping up to put his front legs on my shoulders.

    Sending you tight hugs. I know this time of year is so hard.

    Samantha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy, What a special memory of Lexi. Thank you for sharing it with us. I love how her personality was apparent right from the get go. ~Hugs Margret

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can only imagine what a joy you felt that moment… and how this 4th of july became the most special holiday for you….I love this first chapter… it is like the start of a journey… and I will travel with you, chapter by chapter…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

