Meet Lucy

lucy-on-couch

                 Lucy in my office at St. Luke

This sweet girl is a rescued, dark brindle bullie mix. She came to live with us a week ago on Saturday, while I looked for a good home for her. I don’t get attached to dogs quickly, so no problem. Besides, she isn’t a schnauzer! We figured it was better to pick out a name to call her rather than keep referring to her as “the dog.” I came up with Lucy.  Monday afternoon I approached Jeff with tears in my eyes and asked if we could keep her. Without hesitation he nodded and said, “Of course.” WE HAVE A NEW DOG!

Lucy makes the house feel alive again. She has also filled a little bit of the space in my heart that Lexi’s passing left desolately empty. I imagine that space will keep filling as we get to know and love each other even more.

Lucy has been accepted as the new, permanent church dog. Everyone who meets her falls in love with her- staff, volunteers, parishioners, children. The pastor’s 10-year-old daughter comes after school and runs through the hall playing with Lucy, and sits or lays on the floor petting and hugging her, and saying, “I love you, Lucy.” Lucy has also been great with the few younger children she has chanced to meet over the last week.

Lucy sitting

Jeff called her “the perfect dog.” She has a temperament that can’t be beat, is playful without being obnoxious (you know what I mean), knows a few simple commands, barely sheds and has not had any accidents in the house. No, she waited to go to work with me to pee on the hallway runner. And to Petco to pee about 87 gallons on the floor while I sorted through new collars. So, maybe “almost perfect.”

I took her to the vet on Tuesday, where I found out she is a little over a year old and 58 pounds. While there, I was able to observe her interacting with two smaller dogs. I saw tail wags and friendly nose touches. That is also where I realized  – while the vet was searching her abdomen for a scar indicating she had been spayed – that she had gone into heat. She went back yesterday for an ovario-hysterectomy. She is home now, resting at my feet, and obviously not feeling her best after major surgery.

Lucy asked me to let everyone know that she looks forward to blogging with all of you and making new friends, and hopes to be accepted and loved in this community as well. She indicated that she will start blogging after she has had time to recover from her surgery.

An aside to all who might be wondering if this means I am no longer looking for a schnauzer. Not as obsessively. Not as actively. But there is always room in our home and hearts for a second dog if the right one comes along.

76 thoughts on “Meet Lucy

  1. I am so elated for you both! Mom always says a new dog doesn’t replace the one that passed; rather, is a chance to make new memories and keep the love going. Best wishes to you both and I am again, so very happy and sending out a big WOOF!!! Love, Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your mom is so right, Maggie. Besides, Lexi could never be replaced, so we would be without a dog forever if that were the case. Lucy is carving out her own place in our hearts and giving our home that needed canine quality. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dennis. Gotcha days can also be a teenie bit scary and bewildering. So we made extra sure to be extra sweet and gentle with the little lady.

      Like

  2. WOO HOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Wellcome Lady Lucy! Yur a beeuteefull doggie gurl……
    Mee sendss you POTP fur yur recovery an hope to see you blogging here soon….
    Lady Amy wee are so happy you have a new doggie gurl ❤
    ***nose bumpsss*** Siddhartha Henry an (((hugsss))) LadyMum

    Like

  3. Yay! How wonderful! Welcome Lucy!!! I am so glad that not only has Lucy found a new home but your husband was totally alright with it 🙂 Can’t wait to read more about her. And this is the exact reason I am not allowed to foster dogs…my husband knows that once I bring one into the house I won’t let go.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve got the best husband in the world. I picked good. 🙂 The reason he didn’t want us to foster one is because he is like you. I am not normally like that – I can let go to the right home – but not this time.

      Like

  4. Nice to meet you Lucy, you look very kind. And welcome! It is so interesting how the things happen, we decided we don’t take a cat any more, when our Viiru had to go to the Bridge. So about after a month Kosmo walked in our home, he just came, nobody knew him. So we thought he was sent to us. Now I have a feeling that Lucy was just sent to you. There is so much in this world we don’t know.
    Extra hugs to Lucy!
    Kosmo and mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hiya Lucy, oh sweetie I can’t wait to get to know you!
    This is GREAT news
    Get well soon and then…..oh I can’t wait!!!!…….tell us all about YOU
    Loves and licky kisses
    Princess Leah xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Welcome Lucy!!! We are so happy you found Miss Amy and your furr-ever home. We can’t wait to get to know you better!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

    Liked by 1 person

    • All the time and sites I was searching for a schnauzer, I saw literally hundreds of bullies. I asked someone why, and they said because they are so over bred. I am sure that is combined with what you said, the prejudice against them. Lucy isn’t black. She’s brindle, just a dark brindle which makes her look almost black in pictures. I am glad you approve, Kissie!

      Like

  7. Yaaaaaay! Hi, Lucy!!! I am your uncle, er, brother(?), Noodle. Ummm, Mom #2, can you please help me figure out what my relationship to Lucy is. I think if Lexi was my girl, and lucy is her sister, that makes Lucy my sister? My head hurts. Anywho, we are SOOOOO excited for all of you. We also think Lucy has part schnauzer in her 😉 Mom wants me to remind you that it takes new pups about 2 weeks or more to show their “true colors”. Ummm, does that mean Lucy is going to turn white or something? I feel SO lost tonight >.< It must be the excitement. I don't think I'm getting enough oxygen to my brain. Okay, I love you both very much! *ear licks* Noodle

    Liked by 3 people

    • Noodle, sweet son, you are making me laugh so hard. I read this to Jeff and he is also laughing and said this is vintage Noodle.
      You and Lucy can be friends. I think she will like Macy real well, too. But to sort out the relationship, if I am your Mom #2, then Lucy is your sister #2. I think.
      And as far as part schnauzer, I don’t think so, but she is part terrier: AmStaff Terrier, to be exact. I think.
      As for her color turning, I guess you will have to help me watch for that in all the pictures she will have on the blog. Will you do that?
      Now, take a deep breath. Hold it. Release. There, is that better?
      We all love you, too, and your Mom and the rest of you family, too.
      P.S. Lucy could use your ear licks. She has an ear infection (and she is getting treated for it.) ❤ Mom #2

      Liked by 2 people

    • Lexi was definitely one of a kind. You understand, have experienced the same. I bet in less than a week Lucy will be feeling better than new! In the meantime, there are pain pills.

      Like

    • Aw, that’s so nice, Cupcake. Who knows, perhaps a schnauzer will also appear before the end of 2017. Stranger things have already happened this year.

      Like

  8. Squee!!!!! I kind of thought you might keep her when I saw her on FB. With that face, who wouldn’t? She’s totally adorable and I wish you years and years of a happy life together. Ear scratches and belly rubs for sweet Lucy. Treats to follow. 😉

    Like

  9. We are all delighted that Lucy is joining your family and welcome her with open arms to the Blogville community. She has such a welcoming, innocent face. I think Angel Lexi might have done something to help Lucy find you.

    Luvs,

    Shoko and Kali

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, innocent is a word I would use to describe her. I am not sure if Lexi would send me another bullie mix… but perhaps she saw Lucy’s innocent spirit and helped make it happen. 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Amy, you just made me cry! I am so happy that Lucy found you and Jeff. I have been praying that the dog you were supposed to have would find you and she has. She is absolutely beautiful. I look forward to reading her posts and getting to know her. Give her a gentle cuddle from me.
    ~ hugs
    Margret

    Liked by 1 person

  11. WELCOME to BLOGVILLE, LUCY… We are so very much happy to meet you. You are doing a grand job of FITTING IN with the Family… and at YOUR… New Place of WORK. WOW you have a JOB already. THAT is amazing.
    You will LOVE Blogville. Just Sayin’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

