From Bad to Worse by Lucy

0123171610aThis morning Amy saw bloody liquid drizzling out of my owie. She put one of her T-shirts on me and took me back to the vet. It is a long ride and by the time we got there my her shirt was soaked in bloody wetness. I was happy to be at the vet doctor’s office because they are all so nice to me. Then Amy left me and the vet people irritated my owie with a saline salute. I mean regaed it. Or gated it. Or something like that. And they closed it back together with metal things. And I am on medicine so I don’t get an insect. Or something like that. It is all because of what I did to my owie with my tongue. All of you were right. I thought I was being clever when I didn’t let Amy see that I could still lick it, even with the pretty blue donut thingy around my neck. But it seems that I was a bad girl and now I am being punished with this horrible collar of shame. I can’t sniff the ground to figure out where I want to go potty, I can’t reach my water or food, and I get stuck places. I am on sick leave from work, too, but at least Jeff will be here with me and let me sleep in his office. *sigh* I have to go back to the vet doctor this Friday. Maybe if I am real good and do everything I am told, all they will do is pet me and give me treats and tell Amy to take the collar of shame off me.0123171609-1

59 thoughts on “From Bad to Worse by Lucy

  1. Hi Lucy,
    I don’t know how I missed your welcome to blogville day.
    So welcome from me and it’s nice to meet you.
    Sorry you have the come of shame on, lets hope it comes
    off soon.
    Astro

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Astro. She probably has the cone for another week. The incision isn’t healing as quickly as had hoped after she messed with it, and because of the vascular swelling from her estrus.

      Like

  2. Oh Lucy, Nugget & I are sending you big hugs. It will be ok you’ll see. Maybe Amy can put a small toy in your cone or slide a treat down it:)
    I had to wear one a while ago too but mom made sure I had lots of treats so I was happy. Friday will come so fast & you will be running & playing again:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh you poor sweetie! There you were doing your bestest to keep your Owie clean and look what happens..The Cone of Shame *sigh*
    I am sending you lots of healing licky kisses Lucy, I do hope your Owie heals up real quick and you can get rid of that cone thingy, take care, rest up and….work that sad look fur extra TREATS!!!!!
    Loves and licky kisses
    Princess Leah xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lucy, I’m so glad the vet fixed efurrything around your owie… please give your tongue a lazy day and let that owie heal a little, ok? we failed with the donut too… it is much more comfy for dogs than the lamp shade… butt….dogs are “con-torture-tionists” when it comes to an owie :o) potp and hugs to you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I don’t have a choice. No more sneaking in licks because this cone thingie is bigger than a satellite. Hugs back to you and try to stay off the pad of shame. Sounds like we have both gotten in trouble

      Like

  5. Oh Lucy, we hope that Owie heals faster than fast and you can get out of your cone.
    We’re sending you soothing hugs and lots of POTP!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mee-you sweet Lucy thee Vet irrigated yur ‘owwie’…that was to flush thee bad germs out of thee inncision. An thee meddysin iss to purrvent innfeckshun…..
    You could become berry ill an that wood bee turribull.
    Thee cone of royaltee will help yur ‘owwie’ heal quiker.
    If you have any more meddycall questshunss let mee know OK???
    gentull ~~head rubsss~~ Siddhartha Henry~~

    Liked by 2 people

    • Siddhartha Henry, you are so smart! Thank you for helping me with my words. I don’t always understand, especially special talking. But I am sure I will learn. head rubsss back! (oh, I can’t reach your head with this thing on my head) ~Lucy

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mee-you sweet Lucy mee iss here to help!
        See mee all most died when mee was a wee 6 week old kitt! Mee an mee Brofur an Sisfur were berry sick. Mee was thee werst. So mee leerned ALOT of meddycal termss an werdss.
        ~~head rubss~~ yur furend Siddhartha Henry~~

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the tip, which I may check out if she ever needs it again. After I dropped $25 with tax on this thing today, she is just going to have to get used to it. And thanks for the well wishes, we hope so too.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Lucy my friend do we have a lot in common! So like when I had my lady surgery last year I wouldn’t stop licking either, I mean come on it was itchy! So My Margret and My Greg put the cone of royalty on me, so do you know what happened then? Since I wasn’t able to reach it I got my sisters to lick my itchy spot for me. Yeah, that didn’t make anyone really happy and My Margret soon put a stop to it. The bad thing was it made my feel better time take longer. Wear your cone of royalty proudly my friend it’s like going to help your itchy owie get better faster. Oh and it won’t take long before you know how to eat and drink with it on. I promise! Glad that you can keep your Jeff company. during the day!
    ~Gentle nose nudges, Bonnie Pup

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you for understanding, Bonnie Pup. It’s good to know i am not alone. That was brilliant to have your sisters help you out with the licking. 🙂 This thing is so big – it’s an XL – that I can’t even get my head down to the bowl. Besides, I deserve to be hand fed (and it tastes better out of Amy’s hand). It really bites that I can’t even get on the couch to lay my head on Amy’s lap tonight. 😦

      Like

      • You totally deserve to be hand fed, it’s one of the perks of being royalty! I bet Amy figured out a way that you could cuddle with her. Hope you are feeling better today. ~gentle nose nudges, Bonnie

        Liked by 1 person

  8. OH LUCY…. WE are very much sorry that your licking of the Owie caused it to get WORSE and that now you have to wear the MAXIMUM SECURITY version of the Dreaded Cone of Shame…
    WE are sending you TONS and TONS of POTP.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, No! Lucy next time leave the boo boos alone. I am so sorry they had to irritate you and staple you shut. 😦 I had staples in my nose once. It doesn’t hurt to get them out. Woof! Love to you and your human, Maggie xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh no! The cone of shame. Aargh, L. What the heck? Oh well. The tummy needs to heal up, so this will make that happen. Meanwhile pretend it’s just a cute outfit and strut around showing it off. (that’s what I did) You will be better before you know it. Paws crossed that Friday is the last cone day.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Like

Leave a Reply

