Grooming: Yorkies and a Morkie and Updates

There has been a letup in most activity post Easter, including grooming. I got three dogs in this week. The first two have been coming to me every five weeks since 2014. They were referred to me by my original clients in our neighborhood, whose sweet pups I groomed last week. Because of the good care they get, there isn’t a lot of difference in the before and after pics. Both these pictures are “before.”

Slider, on the left, is a full-sized Yorkshire Terrier, with the very fine Yorkie hair. He always gets a scissor cut.  Slider is about seven or eight years old and he’s usually the cause of his folks being late to their grooming appointment. He gets the vibe of where they are going and runs and hides. Even so, he’s a very good boy. I do have to watch him carefully on the table, though, as he’s a “jumper.”

Here they are “after.” Peyton on the right is about six years old now. Slider’s folks answered an ad for a Yorkie for sale. When they went to see her and talked to the man selling her, they decided that she was not a Yorkie, and was stolen. They decided to buy her just to give her a good home if they couldn’t find her real owners. She’s smaller and longer than Slider, and is the darling of her little boy and dad. Have you caught the theme in their names yet?

Petey is one of my new grooms that I had mentioned in a previous post, but had neglected to get pictures. This was just his second time here. Doesn’t he look proud to be groomed? Pete is a ten year old Morkie (Maltese and Yorkie). As I mentioned previously, the breeder was selling these designer puppies for $1000, but giving away the males. Yep, his Mom snagged this dear boy for free. They live just around the corner from us.  Isn’t it funny that his Mom didn’t find me until I advertised my business on the Neighborhood website? She was so pleased that she posted Pete’s picture with a great review on the site today.

Finally, two updates. I mentioned in A Happier Nextdoor Story that Sadie Jo, who had come to me for the first time, was having some symptoms that I thought needed to be checked out. The vet agreed there was something wrong, but the bloodwork was only slightly off. Last week she died of pancreatic cancer. It was a huge shock to everyone, and her Mom is grieving hard.

Now for the good news. Angel Lexi asked for prayer for Sophie the schnauzer for an ugly-looking tumor on the bottom of her left ear. You can see it in the picture in the post. A lot of you responded with POTP and many prayers, and I can’t thank you enough. The biopsy came back benign and they will have the tumor removed soon. God is good.

15 thoughts on “Grooming: Yorkies and a Morkie and Updates

    • Thanks, Monika. Yes, it was so terribly sad about Sadie Jo. I remember years ago when I had my business in one place for seven years, I would call to schedule appointments to be told, “I meant to call you but it was just so hard. [name] died.” I would choke up and mumble my condolences cause I couldn’t talk and hang up and cry. I get pretty attached after a while, not to mention, of course, their people.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. All thee doggies look grate butt our faverite iss Petey! there iss a Yorkie/Maltese livin in thee building here now an shee iss berry cute…onlee weighss 5 poundss!!! Mee weighss close to 12 pounds Lady Amy so mee feelss B-I-G beeside her! Wee are happy yur doin well at thee doggie groomin….
    An mee sendss all thee POTP that you need ok???
    ~~head rubsss~~ Dharth Henry~~ an ((hugsss)) LadyMum 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

