Friday Food for Thought

Lately, I have been doing a lot of research on dog-related matters, especially nutrition and meds. Every time I learn something new, I realize how much more I have to learn.

For some time now, I have been wondering how much harm I have done/am doing by using insecticides in the forms of flea spray, flea baths, flea prevention, heartworm prevention and lawn products.  The question, “Why am I poisoning my dog?” keeps recurring, with the obvious answer of “for her own good.” Huh?

I want to do better than that, and I believe I can. So, without promoting or suggesting any particular action, I want to share with you some of the things I have learned. I realize you may shrug and say that’s not for me, or, hopefully, like me, be interested enough to dig a little deeper. Today’s link is about worms and heartworms and is entitled Prevent and Treat Bug Bites with These Natural Solutions and includes a link to an illustrated Heartworm Guide.  I am very interested in hearing your thoughts.

Have a good weekend, all!

14 thoughts on “Friday Food for Thought

  1. We do heartworm meds as Abby was dumped at a shelter heartworm positive and another round would be fatal at her age. We use natural solutions for both fleas and the yard as she nibbles on the grass, and rolls in it regularly. Thanks for the great info!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t yet quite understood what this article is saying about this alternate way to handle heartworms. I have to learn a lot more before i would consider taking Lucy off of her HW prevention. I would be very interested in knowing what natural solutions you use for fleas, as that could change which HW prevention I give.

      Like

Leave a Reply

