Sisterly Love

AND

Lucy: OK, so first, I want to thank everyone for their support. No one told me I was a bad dog for running off. Ya’ll just told me how pretty I am and to be patient and don’t make my Mom worry about me ’cause she loves me very much.

Xena: Well, it’s true, except for the part of not being a bad dog for running off.

Lucy: I wasn’t talking to you, Xena. I was talking to all my friends who love me. Some day you will love me, too, because I am going to be a wonderful big sister to you. I remember now what it was like coming to a place – even a good place – that was all new and trying to learn what to do.

Xena: You rolled me in the dog lot today. That wasn’t nice. You scared me.

Lucy: I was trying to play with you. I will be more careful next time.

Xena: Mommy got a brand new toy just for me. His name is Racoon. I love Racoon.

Lucy: I am glad you love Racoon, Xena. Mom spent Saturday going to the half off sale at all the area Goodwills. The toys are for all of us. And I got a “new” collar.

Xena: What about my tennis ball?

Lucy: Again, the toys belong to all of us, little sister. Mom threw the ball for you a lot, and you learned it is called “ball.” That was good, Xena.

Then, Mom made sure I had a turn to play, too. She wanted me to remember that she loves me just as much as she loves you, and that we can still have fun together.

Did you know that we stood and watched you play by yourself and do zoomies? I bet you didn’t see Mom look over and smile and wink at me. Do you know what I did then, Xena?

Xena: Did you ask for a treat?

Lucy: No, I winked back!

Xena: No way! I think you’re fibbing, Lucy.

Lucy: Way! You should have seen her mouth drop open before she grinned real big.

Xena: Then Mommy and Daddy took us all – even Riley who mostly ignores me – for a walk. Mommy forgot to bring the camera phone to take my picture. She didn’t realize she needed that picture until after we got home and she went into the bathroom.

Lucy: Xena! You didn’t!

Xena: At least I went to the bathroom in the bathroom. Hey did you see my new cuteness collar? That must have been what kept me out of trouble.

Lucy: The way you acted on the walk, she probably couldn’t have gotten your picture anyhow. You bunny hopped down the road and barked and barked and zigged and zagged and totally wore yourself out.

Xena: *yawn* No I didn’t.

Lucy: Shhh. Goodnight, little sister.

Love and wiggles, Lucy

19 thoughts on “Sisterly Love

    • Yes, girls, I’ve seen some of your conversations. 🙂 Oh, and Lucy just let Xena have her apple core, even though I was holding Xena back. I hope it doesn’t mess with her digestion!

      Like

    • Lucy would be afraid and run off the stage. Or just run into the audience to visit all the people. And XENA, well, don’t even get me started on what she would do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

