Riley and Egg Girl on Poetry and Thankful Thursday

Many thanks to Angel Sammy for the fun picture this week and to Angel Brian for hosting Thankful Thursday!

Here’s Angel Sammy’s fun picture and my poem for it.

EGGSHELL SALLY by Riley

Eggshell Sally sat on a wall
Eggshell Sally took a great fall
All the king’s horses and all the king’s men
Couldn’t make omelet of Sally’s eggshell so thin.

As I was waiting to see what would happen
Poor Eggshell Sally (who was now Miss McCracken)
Cried out “Dear Doggie, won’t you please help me?”
So I ate up the eggshell and set Sally free!

Sally was so happy she took me to eat
All the steak and sushi and hamburger meat
My poor stomach could hold; think I’m getting too old,
Cause I woke with a start from my really loud fart!

Chia: BOL, BOL, that sounds like something I would write, Riley. Guess you do have a sense of humor after all! I’m really thankful for that, cause I think it might mean the sneers you give me are just in fun..and that you weren’t really going to bite off my head when you almost caught it when I was sticking my head into your almost- empty dog food bowl. Dad could hear your jaws snap together from the other room. Good thing I have fast reflexes!
Riley: Think again, hot dog.

Xena: I have a thankful, if you two are done. Even if you two aren’t done. I’m thankful that I haven’t had an allergy outbreak in over a year, since Mommy started giving me that Four Leaf Rover powder stuff to get rid of yeast and make my gut healthy. And Riley, believe it or not, I’m also thankful that all your itching and ear inflammation has gone away since she started giving it to you, too. (He scratched really loud and drove me crazy…at least I used to lick myself quietly.) I’m looking forward to another spring without the itchies!

Happy Thankful Thursday, everyone! Riley, Chia and Xena

16 thoughts on “Riley and Egg Girl on Poetry and Thankful Thursday

  1. Riley, we give your poem an A+++. You really made our mom laugh. Congrats on getting rid of the itches and ear inflammation. Our Kizmet eats and bathes so loudly, she drives our mom bonkers. She’s a slurper. XOCK, angels Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta & Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth, Calista Jo, Cooper Murphy, Sawyer, Kizmet, Audrey & Raleigh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That was really funny Riley, ya done good and I laughed out loud. Good thankfuls too! Thanks for joining Angel Brian’s Thankful Thursday Blog Hop!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mommy sang that song “Lay Down Sally” to us (and we survived) and none of us can figure out what a humpty dumpty rhyme has to do with that song… Maybe he will have to sing it for us. XOX Xena and my pack

    Like

  4. Riley you and Chia are just to much, I could hear those jaws snap in my head. ha ha.. and good job on the egg girl.

    Xena, I don’t remember ever hearing about the Four Leaf Rover yeast powder. i looked through four Leaf Rover site and it looks like they have it for humans and dogs. first i have heard of this.. I think Beau and I need a probiotic, will be checking this out

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Riley you had my Mom and me laughing like crazy with your fab poem! Eggshell Sally was lucky you released her from her egg prison by consuming her “outfit”. GOOD JOB!!!!!!

    Hugs, Teddy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.