Lucy’s Poetry and Thankful Thursday

Many thanks to Angel Sammy for the fun picture this week and to Angel Brian for hosting Thankful Thursday!

Babysitting by Lucy

The folks invited me over
To watch their little kids
While they both got plastered
And soon closed their eyelids.

The children were such angels;
Never screamed or pulled my ears.
I made them both some bagels;
They had wine but no dark beers.

I’m sure their folks will be so pleased
When they awake tomorrow
To find their small angels received
My love with care apropo.

Did you like my poem? I would like to babysit. Maybe I’ll run an ad. What do you think?

Now for my thankful. I am so very thankful that Mom and Dad chose me and Xena to go on their trip with them. I’m thankful that I knew how to be a good therapy dog with all the residents who wanted to pet me at the elder care facility, too. They want me to come back as soon as I can! Maybe there’s another trip in my not-too-distant future!

Lots of wags and love, Lucy

24 thoughts on “Lucy’s Poetry and Thankful Thursday

  1. That was a fabulous poem, ya sure done good! A most excellent thankful too and I’m sure proud o you being so good. Thanks for joining Angel Brian’s Thankful Thursday Blog Hop!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s some little kids near us in the neighborhood. Maybe I’ll go see if I can babysit them. Another one comes and sits in the chair in the hallway so I can cuddle with him while Mom grooms his little dog. *wags* Lucy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucy I LOVED your poem…especially no dark beer part. When you come to babysit me FYI, I like a little cheese with my wine..

    Hugs Cecilia

    PS YAY you being so good with the road trip and visit

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lulu: “I can’t think of much that would panic our Dada more than baby-sitting, except maybe somebody handing him a baby to hold. He’s always afraid he’s going to break them!”
    Java Bean: “Ayyy, but haven’t he and Mama dog-sat for people before?”
    Lulu: “Oh sure, but those are dogs. He knows how to deal with dogs.”
    Oona: “Oona knows how to deal with dogs too. You wait for their tails to swing by and then you grab them.”
    Lulu: “That is not how you deal with dogs.”
    Oona: “IT’S HOW OONA DEALS WITH DOGS!!!”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lucy you would be the perfect sitter for these kids just as you are the perfect therapy dog for older people. old people are like kids, all they need is love and you are so good at that

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lucy! What a great job you did with your poem this week – I think you would make a fabulous babysitter – put an ad in the paper and no doubt you will be flooded with calls in no time. What will you charge for your services? Bags of treats? I’m sure the people in the elder care facility fell in love with you – – – after all you are quite lovable!

    Hugs, Teddy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.